Skip to main content

Knowledge Base

Archive Assets

Marking assets as archived within Bynder allows you to control who can view and download your assets. Archive is an Advanced Rights option that you can enable on individual assets. Advanced Rights allow you to control who has access to particular files. You can set an asset to archive indefinitely or with a specific start date, similar to an expiration. While archived, only specific users with the appropriate permissions will be able to view and/or download these assets. Assets marked as archived will display Archive on the asset thumbnail.

Skip directly to

Example use case

One of the main use cases for this feature is for assets that should no longer be available for users to view/download but that need to continue to be stored within Bynder, such as outdated, expired, or assets no longer in use by the majority of the user base. For example, let’s say that your team has a Spring Campaign that runs until June 1st, when the Summer Campaign begins. You can store the Spring Campaign assets within Bynder and set that you want them to be marked as archived on June 1st. This way, on June 1st, the archive right will be added to your asset and they’ll no longer be available to the majority of your user base. You can set it so that some users, such as your design team, can still view and download these archived assets for future campaign inspiration.

Who can view and download archived assets?

Users with the following permission enabled can view & download archived assets:

  • View archived assets: Users can view archived assets

  • Download archived assets: Users can download archived assets.

    Note

    • You need to enable both view archived assets and download archived assets permissions for a user to be able to download.

    • We recommend granting permission to view and download archived assets to only heavy users groups, such as DAM Admins or users in charge of content management.

Archive Assets

Who can Archive assets?

  1. Users with one of the following rights can Archive assets upon upload:

    • Upload assets with mandatory approval

    • Upload assets

  2. User with the following right can Archive existing assets

    • Edit assets

  3. If you are uploading assets, open the Advanced Rights section on the left hand side of the upload page.

    • You can also set asset(s) as archived automatically using custom triggers. Learn more about custom triggers here.

  4. To archive an existing asset, click the asset(s) in the Asset Bank, and click the Edit tab on the right hand side of the asset details page, then open the Advanced Rights section.

  5. Select Label this media as archive (your portal might have slightly different wording).

    • Now: This option will immediately archive the asset. When the upload or edit is saved, the asset will be marked as archived in the Asset Bank.

    • On (date): This option will automatically archive the asset on the date and time that you set. Until then it will be visible for users in the Asset Bank. The date will display in the time-zone of the user (or the timezone of the portal if the user does not have one).

6. Click Save or Store selected files.

Allow all users to view archived assets in collections

By default, when sharing assets with users, the recipient’s permissions will be respected. Therefore if you share a collection that includes assets marked with archive to a group of users, only those who have access to the archived assets in the Asset Bank will also have access to those assets in the collection.

However, you can allow any user within the portal to view archived assets if they’re added to a collection. This collection must be created by a user with view archived assets permission and then shared with a user without the permissions in order to bypass that restriction.

Note

You might need to have this feature enabled for your account. Contact your Customer Success resource for information and help with the setup.

Allow users to view archived assets even if they do not have the right permissions

You might also use a setting that allows both logged-in and external users to see archived and limited assets if they are a part of a collection even though the users might not have the rights to view archived or limited assets.

Note

  • Make sure you have this feature enabled for your account. Contact your Bynder Customer Success Manager for information and help with the setup.collect

Archive notifications

We can help you keep users notified about assets being archived. If this option is enabled for you, users who have downloaded an asset (once or multiple times) will receive a built-in notification within Bynder on the archival date. Learn more about the notification center here.

Additionally, you may ask your Customer Success resource to configure the notification so that it also appears before an asset reaches its archival date. You may also specify how many days prior to the archival date that the notification should be shown.

Note

  • The notification will also be generated when a version or a derivative of the asset is archived.

  • The notification is only sent to those who have downloaded the asset.

  • Notifications will not be generated for open asset bank users.

Mandatory archive date on upload and multi-edit

To help you manage your asset lifecycle, we can enable a setting that makes it mandatory for everyone who uploads or edits multiple assets to provide an archive date upfront. In this way, assets do not remain in your portal for longer than necessary and you do not need to remember to archive assets when you no longer need them.

With the setting on, the archive date becomes mandatory when you upload assets (also upload with External Uploader), edit several assets and export assets to the asset bank to the Waiting room.

The setting does not support uploading with Version Updater, Mass Uploader, or via API. You also cannot set the archive date when you edit a single asset.

If you upload files via API make sure that you upload them to Waiting room first so that the archive date cannot be bypassed. For the same reason export files from workload through the Waiting room.