Knowledge Base

Mark assets as Limited to hide them from certain users

Limited usage is an option that you can enable for your digital assets, which hides them for users who do not have the permission to access these type of files. Media can be labeled as Limited Use immediately, or until a particular date. When this date expires, the Limited usage option is automatically removed, and the asset becomes available for everyone who has sufficient rights to the Asset Library. You can also decide who has rights to download limited assets.

You can define Limited use for assets on upload or when you are editing.

Skip directly to

Use case

Assets labeled as Limited Use are not yet considered active within the DAM. You can use the feature, for example, when you have assets for a new Spring campaign that are ready to be uploaded to the DAM, but should not be used until March 1st, at which point light users can gain access.

Before you begin

  • Make sure you have set up rights for limited assets correctly. Go to Settings > Users & roles > Permission Management, select the profile for which you want to edit the rights and select the following:

    • select View limited usage assets for users to be able to view limited assets.

    • select Download limited usage assets for users to be able to download limited assets.

    Note

    We advise granting access to limited assets to specific heavy user groups only, such as account administrators or people in charge of content management, such as content or marketing managers.

Select the Limited usage option for assets

  1. Do one for the following:

    • If you are uploading assets, open the Advanced Rights tab on the Upload page.

    • If you want to make an existing assets limited, click the assets in the Asset overview, and click the Edit tab on the Asset detail page. Then open the Advanced Rights tab.

  2. Select Limited usage.

  3. (Optional) If you want the Limited usage to expire, set the date and the time in the Expiration date field. After this date, all users who have the right to view assets in the Asset Library will be able to access this asset. The date displays in the rime zone of the user.

    Note

    If the user does not have the time zone set up for his/her account, the portal time zone is taken into account.

  4. Click Save or Store selected files.

Results

Your changes might take a while to take effect. If you want to remove Limited usage, click on the asset to go to the Asset detail page, and click the Edit tab. Open the Advanced Rights tab and clear the Limited usage checkbox. After you save your changes, the asset will be visible for all users.

Limited usage assets inside collections

By default, assets marked as limited usage are not visible in shared collections. This means that when the recipients open the share they will not be able to see the assets that are marked as limited usage.

We can configure your portal in a way that limited usage assets will be visible in collections. Contact your Customer Success Manager if you would like tho have this set up for your portal.

Note

If this feature is enabled for your portal, assets marked as limited usage will always be visible in collections. This applies when you share assets with users who have an account in your portal as well as external users. Even when logged-in users normally do not have the right to see limited usage material, they will be able to see the limited usage assets in the collection.

Learn more