Knowledge Base

Create New Bynder Users

As an administrator, you can create new users, give them rights and invite them to use Bynder. You can create multiple users at once and import the email addresses of the new users from a CSV file.

If you create single users, the profile you create for them is more detailed than the profiles generated when you create multiple users at once. If you want to create multiple user accounts with detailed profiles, we can import them for you. Contact your Customer Success Manager for more information.

Before You Begin

You add users to specific profile types that define what users can do in Bynder. Make sure you have the profile types set up before you create users. See Create or edit a user profile.

How to Add Users?

Below you'll find instructions for adding a single user or for adding multiple users at the same time.

I Want to Add a Single User
  1. Go to Settings & Users & rights & User Management.

  2. Click Add new user.

  3. Fill in all the required fields.

  4. (Optional) Fill in the optional fields.

  5. (Optional) Open the Groups dropdown to add the user to one or more user groups.

  6. Open the the Set user profile dropdown and select the permission profile you want to assign the user to.

  7. Select Active to activate the user account, so that the user can log in.

  8. Select Send email notification if you want the user to get a notification that their account has been created. By selecting this option, you also allow the user to define their own password to the portal. If you leave this option cleared, you need to define the password for the user.

  9. (Optional) Select SSO user for this user to be able to log in with his/her SSO credentials only. The user won't be able to log in using the username and password combination.

    Note

    You need a feature enabled to have this option. If you want to have it, contact your Customer Success Manager.

  10. Click Save to create the user account.

I Want to Add Multiple Users

You can create an account for multiple users by importing a CSV file or by entering the email addresses in the portal. When adding multiple users you can only add the email addresses at the same time. Other user data, such as first and last names, department information and phone numbers will still have to be manually added by the users themselves or portal administrators.

If you want to create multiple user accounts with detailed profiles without manually having to add this data, we can import the accounts for you. Contact your Customer Success Manager for more information.

How would you like to add multiple users?

  1. Go to Settings > Users & rights > User Management.

  2. Click the Add multiple users button.

  3. Enter the email addresses you want to create an account for in the text field. Separate the email addresses with a comma.

  4. Select Active for the users to be able to log in to Bynder.

  5. Select Send email notification if you want the users to get a notification that their account has been created. By selecting this option, you also allow the users to define their own password to the portal. If you leave this option cleared, you need to define the password for the users.

    Note

    If you select this option but do not select the Active option, the users will receive a notification to contact a person within their organization. They will also not be able to log in to the system.

  6. Click Save to add the new user accounts.

  1. Prepare your CSV file in your preferred text editor. Enter the email addresses of the users you want to create an account for and save the file as a comma (,) or semicolon (;) separated CSV file. You can download an example CSV file here.

  2. Go to Settings > Users & rights > User Management.

  3. Click the Add multiple users button.

  4. Click the Choose file button and select your CSV file.

  5. Select Active to activate the user accounts, so that the users can log in.

  6. Select Send email notification if you want the users to get a notification that their account has been created. By selecting this option, you also allow the users to define their own password to the portal. If you leave this option cleared, you need to define the password for the users-.

    Note

    If you select this option but do not select the Active option, the user will receive a notification to contact a person within their organization. They will also not be able to log in to the system.

  7. Click Save to add the new user accounts.

Learn more