Knowledge Base

Manage Users

As an administrator, you can manage users. You can view user profile data and change user details such as the email address, the password, or the user profile. Also you have the opportunity to delete or deactivate user accounts and to export user profile data to a CSV file.

At the same time, managing the user data of a large user-base take up a considerable amount of you time. Save yourself and other administrators some time and allow (specific) permission profiles to manage their user profile themselves.

How to Manage Users

I Want to Modify User Data
  1. Make sure the permission profiles are set up correctly. Read more about creating permission profiles here.

  2. Search for the user and click the name or email address of the user to open the user detail page.

  3. Click Save to assign the user to this permission profile.

I Want to Delete a User Account

When you delete a user account the account and all user data will be permanently removed from the portal and database. Assets and collections that are uploaded and created by this user will remain available. The Added by and Created by fields will indicate removed user

Removing a user account is a permanent action and the deleted user and user data can't be restored. Choose to deactivate an account instead if you wish to temporarily disable a user account.

  1. Go to settings-icon-small.png Settings > Users & rights > User Management.

  2. Search for the user you want to delete.

  3. Click the delete-icon.png icon to remove the user account.

  4. Read the warning message carefully and click Delete User or OK to permanently remove the user account.

    Note

    This action is permanent and cannot be undone.

I Want to Deactivate a User Account

When you deactivate an account, the account will remain available in the portal, but the user will no longer be able to login. If the user needs access again you can reactivate the account at any time. Read more about deactivating users here.

Comparison Table

Check the differences between deactivating and deleting users accounts in the table below.

Deactivate Users

Delete Users

  • Recommended solution

  • The user account can be reactivated after 180 days or by contacting your Customer Success Manager

  • Users with a deactivated account won't be able to log in

  • Use with caution

  • The user account and user data can't be restored

  • Users with a deleted account can no longer log in.

I Want to Reactivate a User Account

Follow the steps below if you want to activate a deactivated user account:

  1. Go to settings-icon-small.png Settings > Users & rights > User Management.

  2. Search for the user you want to reactivate and click the name or email address of the user to open the user detail page.

  3. Tick the Active box.

  4. Click Save to reactivate the user.

How to Enable Self-Service User Profile Management

Save yourself and other administrators some time and allow (specific) permission profiles to manage their user profile themselves.

Contact your Customer Success Manager if the permission below is not available in your portal.

Note

Users will not be able to change their email address or username. Only administrators can make these changes for user accounts.

  1. Go to settings-icon-small.png Settings > Users & rights > Permission Management.

  2. Select the permission profile(s) you want to allow to manage their user profiles themselves.

  3. Enable the permission Manage own user profile for the selected permission profile(s).

  4. Click Save to save the changes.

How to Export User Data

You can export the available user profile data of your users to a CSV file. Read more about it here.

User Group Management

User groups allow you to group together users, so you can set up the same restrictions or access level for users with different permission profiles. Read more about user groups here.

Learn more