Knowledge Base

Guides

Guides are individual sections focusing on one aspect of your brand. Guides will be available as separate tiles on the Brand Guidelines overview page. You can set up guide covers to give each tile an individual and distinctive look.

Skip directly to

  • Creating and managing guides

  • Guide visibility

  • Guide covers

How to create a guide?

Go to Brand Guidelines and click the New guide button.

Enter a title for your new guide and click Create.

How to modify the title of a guide?

  1. Go to Brand Guidelines.

  2. Hover over the guide for which you want to change the title and click the  icon.

  3. Click Edit title and modify the title in the Guide title box.

  4. Click Save to save the changes.

Featured guides

You can bring specific guides to the attention of your users by featuring them on the guide overview page. Featured guides will be available at the top of the page making sure to catch the eye of the users.

How to feature a guide
  1. Go to the Brand Guidelines overview page.

  2. Hover over the guide that you want to set as featured.

  3. Click the hamburger_menu.png icon and click Add to featured.

How to remove a guide from the featured guides section
  1. Go to the Brand Guidelines overview page.

  2. Hover over the guide that you want to set as featured.

  3. Click the hamburger_menu.png icon and click Remove from Featured.

Guide Access

For each guide the access needs to be set up. By default guides are set to private only visible to users with the permission This allows editors to first create and manage the content of a guide before making it available to all users. There are four access types, allowing you to make guides private, available to specific users, all users or to publish them publicly. Read more about Guide Access here.

How to view the live version of a guide?

Do you want to check how a guide looks like on the user side? Follow the steps below to check the live version of a guide.

  1. Open the guide that you want to see live.

  2. Click the icon in the top bar and click View live version.

The live version of your guide will open in a new browser tab. You will only see the pages that are currently published.

Guide covers

With guide covers you can set up a cover image for your guides. This allows you to create a distinguishable look and feel for each guide making sure your users can easily find the content they need.

How to set up a guide cover?
  1. Go to Brand Guidelines.

  2. Hover over the guide for which you want to set up a guide cover, click the guidelines_menu.png icon and click Set Guide Cover.

  3. Filter or search for the asset you want to use, select it and click Add media.

How to change a guide cover?
  1. Go to Brand Guidelines.

  2. Hover over the guide for which you want to change the guide cover, click the guidelines_menu.png icon and click Set Guide Cover.

  3. Filter or search for the asset you want to use, select it and click Add media.

How to delete a guide cover?
  1. Go to Brand Guidelines.

  2. Hover over the guide for which you want to remove the guide cover and click Remove Guide Cover.

    Note

    This action is permanent and cannot be undone.

How to delete a guide?
  1. Go to Brand Guidelines.

  2. Hover over the guide you want to delete and click Delete guide.

Guide Groups

Do you have guides that are related or need to be grouped together so that you can better organize the guide overview screen? Guide groups allow you to place multiple guides within a group. This way, you can present your users with a clean and well organized overview screen. You can set up a title, description and cover photo for your group. Find out how you can create, edit and delete guide groups below.

How to Create a Guide Group?
  1. Make sure you're in the guide overview screen of Brand Guidelines.

  2. Click the New group button.

  3. Enter a name for the new group in the Name field.

  4. (Optional) Enter a description for the group in the Description field.

  5. Click Create to create the new guide group.

  6. (Optional) Set up a group cover by hovering over the guide group and clicking Set group cover. Search and/or filter for the image you want to set as group cover, select it and click Add asset.

How to Add Guides to a Guide Group?
  1. Make sure you're in the guide overview screen of Brand Guidelines.

  2. Hover over the guide you want to add to the guide group and click the guidelines_menu.png button. Click Move to group and select the group you want to move the guide to.

  3. (Optional) Repeat the previous step as often as necessary to add other guides to the group.

How to Remove Guides from a Guide Group?
  1. Open the guide group you want to remove a guide from.

  2. Hove over the guide you want to remove, click the guidelines_menu.png button and click Remove from GROUP NAME.

  3. (Optional) Repeat the previous step as often as necessary to remove other guides from the guide group.

How to Edit a Guide Group?
  1. Make sure you're in the guide overview screen of Brand Guidelines and navigate to the Groups section.

  2. Hover over the group you want to edit, click the guidelines_menu.png button and click one of the options below.

    • Edit group title

      Click this option to change the group name. Modify the name in the Group title field and click Create to save the name group name.

    • Edit group description

      Click this option to change the group description. Modify the description in the Group description field and click Create to save the new description.

    • Set group cover

      Click this option to change the group cover. Search and/or filter for the image you want to set as group cover, select it and click Add asset.

How to Delete a Guide Group?

When you delete a guide group the guides inside the group won't be deleted. They will become available on the guide overview screen again.

  1. Make sure you're in the guide overview screen of Brand Guidelines and navigate to the Groups section.

  2. Hover over the group you want to edit, click the guidelines_menu.png button and click Delete group.

  3. Read the warning message carefully and click the Delete button to permanently remove the group.

    Note

    This action is permanent and can't be undone.

Learn more