Knowledge Base

Upload a New Version

Did your asset get updated and would you like to have the latest version available in the Asset Bank without having to tag the asset again? Safe yourself some time and upload the updated file as a new version to your existing asset. This way, you can update the original file and keep all the metaproperties, tags and other information the asset is tagged with as well as any attached additional files and manual derivatives.

Do you have a file with extra information that you would like to attach to an existing asset? Instead of uploading a new version make use of additional files.

Note

The maximum allowed file size for a new version upload is 4GB.

Watch a Video

By uploading a new version you can update the original file of your asset without having to tag the asset again. For example, when a logo used in your asset has changed, you can upload the updated file that includes the new logo as a new version. This way, the original file as well as the preview will be updated and you save yourself the time of having to tag the asset from scratch. All the metaproperties, tags and other information the asset has already been tagged with as well as any attached additional files and manual derivatives will remain available.

When you upload a new version it will be automatically activated. Only one version can be activated at a time. All previously uploaded versions will remain available, so that at any time you can switch back to a previous version.

The Asset Detail view gives a preview of the activated version. When users download the original file or one of the available derivatives the files will be downloaded that are based on the activated version.

The versions available in the Versions tab in the Asset Detail view display the exact time and date of the upload and are sorted from the latest to the oldest, so that you always know which version is the newest. The currently activated version is greyed out.

The date and time is by default shown in the timezone of the user.

  • The time and date format is displayed in the following format: DD-MM-YY HH:MM:SS.

  • UTC is the default timezone. This timezone is also used to arrange versions uploaded in different timezones.

  • The date and time is by default shown in the timezone of the user.

versions.png

Example of versions

How to Upload a New Version

  1. Open the asset you want to upload a new version to.

  2. Click the Versions tab in the right sidebar of the Asset Detail view.

  3. Click the add_metadata_preset.png Click to add a file area in the Versions section.

  4. Select the latest version of the asset from your device.

    Note

    The maximum allowed file size for a new version upload is 4GB.

The new version will be uploaded and automatically activated. You may have to refresh the page in your browser in order to see the changes reflected.

How to Switch Versions

  1. Open the asset for which you want to activate a different version.

  2. Click the Versions tab in the right sidebar of the Asset Detail view. The version that is currently active is greyed out.

  3. Select one of the available versions to activate it.

The selected version is now activated. You may have to refresh the page in your browser in order to see the changes.

How to Delete a Version

You cannot delete the version that is currently active. If you want to remove the version that is currently active, make sure to first select a previously uploaded version. Read more about switching versions here.

  1. Open the asset for which you want to delete a version.

  2. Click the Versions tab in the right sidebar of the Asset Detail view. The version that is currently active is greyed out.

  3. Click the delete_VBS.png button next to the version that you want to delete.

    Note

    This action cannot be undone.

Learn more