Skip to main content

Knowledge Base

Share Files With Bynder Express

Bynder Express lets you send and manage large file transfers directly through your DAM instead of from a third-party app like WeTransfer or Hightail.  

With Bynder Express, Bynder users can share large files up to 40GB through a built-in FTP tool that lives on your Bynder homepage dashboard. You can drag and drop files that you want to transfer, then email the recipient directly from Bynder, or create a link with a set expiration period to share. The files you share in Bynder Express will not be uploaded or shown in the Asset Bank and will not require a login to download, although these transferred files count toward your contracted DAM storage. Portal administrators can find an overview of the users who use Bynder Express and the files they share in the Transfer History section of the portal.

To share files that live in your Asset bank (internally with Bynder users or externally with third parties), see share assets or create, share and manage Collections.

Bynder Express has an upload limit of 40GB.

Note

Make sure you have this feature enabled for your account. Contact your Bynder Customer Success Manager for information and help with the setup..

Skip directly to

Who can use Bynder Express

Users with the following permissions can use Bynder Express:

  • Access to Bynder expressUsers can see and use Bynder Express to share files.

  • View personal transfer historyUsers can see the files they shared via Bynder Express. Users can find their transfer history in the top navigation bar by clicking YourUserName > Transfer history.

  • View transfer history from others Admin can view the complete transfer history for all users in the portal. This permission is only available for heavy (admin) users, not regular or light users.

Share Files With Bynder Express

  1. Navigate to the homepage of your portal.

  2. Click Share your files or drag and drop files into this Bynder Express box.

  3. Select the files you want to upload. You can add additional files later (before sending) by clicking add more files.

  4. Decide if you want to share the files via email or generate a link that you can send via email, chat, text, or other forms of communication.

    • To share files via email:

      1. Enter the recipient's email address.

      2. Decide when the share should expire. After the date has passed, the recipients will no longer be able to download the files. Bynder recommends that you always set an expiration date as a best practice.

      3. Write a message for the recipient in the text box.

      4. Click Send. The recipients will receive an email with a download link.

    • To share files via a link:

      1. Click the toggle to Link.

      2. Specify the expiration date for the files. After the date has passed, the recipients will no longer be able to download the files. Bynder recommends that you always set an expiration date as a best practice.

      3. Click Send. If the internet connection is interrupted during upload, Bynder will automatically continue the upload when the connection is back.

      4. Copy the generated link using the control + c or ⌘ + c keyboard shortcut.

View and Work With Transfer History

Navigate to YourUserName > Transfer history to view the Bynder Express transfer history. Here, you can view or sort the data. You can also:

  • Monitor the status of the transfer. Red dots mean the transfer has expired, orange represents the transfer expiring in 24 hours, and green indicates the files are still available for download.

  • Click the Screen Shot 2016-12-09 at 14.48.25.png button to view and copy the generated link for any available transfers. Once the transfer expires, the link will be broken and unavailable to copy.

  • Click the Screen Shot 2016-12-09 at 14.48.18.png button to download the files for an available transfer. This option is available if the files have not expired.

    Screen Shot 2016-12-09 at 14.48.03.png
  • Click the transfer_revoke.png button to revoke access to your transfer. The share URL will stop working, and recipients will no longer be able to download the shared file(s). The shared files will be removed from our server.

    Note

    You can only revoke your own transfers and not the Bynder Express transfers of other users, even if you are an admin with permission to view transfer history from others.

  • Hover over the Recipients column to view the full list of recipients

  • Hover over the Expires In data to see the exact date and time of the expiration date.

  • If you have the View transfer history from others permission, you can see inactive, active, expired, non-expired, and canceled transfers for all users in the portal. Admins can use this permission to maintain security when an employee leaves the

    company, for auditing, to ensure that Bynder Express is not being abused, and to track old transfers.

Learn more