Knowledge Base

Permission Management

In Permission Management you can create and manage permission profiles. A permission profile is a predefined set of permissions, which defines what your users can do in the portal and which Bynder modules they can access. This varies from light permissions that many users need such as viewing and downloading assets, to access rights that allow certain users to upload and edit assets, to heavier permissions that give managerial or full administrator rights.

Best Practices for Permission Management

  • Avoid using general names for your permission profiles, such as 'Marketing'. Use specific naming instead that better describes the roles of the internal and/or external people working with Bynder. For example, 'Digital Marketing Content Creator'. This allows you to grant access rights more specifically without having to compromise on security.

  • Match the permission profile of internal or external users with the role they have within your organization or as an external party.

How to View and Edit Permission Profiles

Follow the steps below to access the Permission Management section of your portal, where you can view and modify the available permission profiles.

  1. Go to settings_menu.pngSettings > Users & rights > Permission Management to access the Permission Management overview screen. The left Permission profiles sidebar lists all the permission profiles available in the portal.

  2. Select a permission profile in the the left sidebar to view the profile configuration in detail. You will see a list with all the available permissions broken down by Bynder module. Read more about the permissions and types of permission profiles here.

    Tip

    Would you like to compare permission profiles?

    Select multiple permission profiles to compare them. Alternatively, you can select the tick box located in the top of the left sidebar to select all the permission profiles.

  3. (Optional) Modify the selected permission profile(s) by selecting or deselecting permissions.

    Tip

    Use the search bar at the top of the overview screen to quickly find the permission you're looking for.

  4. Click Save to save the changes.

How to Create New Permission Profiles

Tip

Would you like to use the setup of an existing template as a base for a new permission profile?

Duplicate a user profile and save yourself some time.

Follow the steps below to create a new permission profile.

  1. Go to settings_menu.pngSettings > Users & rights > Permission Management to access the Permission Management overview screen.

  2. Click the add_icon.png button in the left Permission profiles sidebar to add a new permission profile.

  3. Enter a new name for new permission profile in the Profile name field and click Save. The new profile will only be categorized as a light, regular or heavy profile once you start configuring it.

  4. Click the new permission profile in the left sidebar and select the permissions you would like to enable for this profile. Read more about the permissions and types of permission profiles here.

  5. Click Save to save the changes.

  6. (Optional) Repeat the above steps is you want to create more permission profiles.

How to Set a Default Permission Profile

Would you like newly created user accounts to be automatically assigned to a default permission profile? Follow the steps below to set a default permission profile.

  1. Go to settings_menu.pngSettings > Users & rights > Permission Management to access the Permission Management overview screen.

  2. In the Permission profiles sidebar hover over the profile you want to set as default profile. Click the hamburger_menu.png button and click Set as default profile.

New users will now automatically be assigned to this default profile upon account creation.

How to Duplicate Permission Profiles

  1. Go to settings_menu.pngSettings > Users & rights > Permission Management to access the Permission Management overview screen.

  2. In the Permission profiles sidebar hover over the profile you want to duplicate. Click the hamburger_menu.png button and click Delete profile.

  3. (Optional) Click the duplicated permission profile in the left sidebar and customize the profile by selecting or deselecting permissions. Read more about the permissions and types of permission profiles here.

  4. Click Save to save the changes.

How to Delete Permission Profiles

  1. Make sure there are no longer user accounts assigned to the permission profile that you want to delete, otherwise, the permission profile cannot be deleted.

  2. Go to settings_menu.pngSettings > Users & rights > Permission Management to access the Permission Management overview screen.

  3. Hover over the profile you want to delete in the Permission profiles sidebar. Click the hamburger_menu.png button and click Delete profile.

  4. Read the warning message and click Yes, delete if you wish to permanently remove the permission profile.

    Note

    This action cannot be undone.

  5. (Optional) Repeat the above steps is you want to remove more permission profiles.

Learn more