Knowledge Base

Guide Access

For each guide the access needs to be set up. By default guides are only visible to users with the Manager permission or the Creator permission if they created the guide. This allows editors to first create and manage the content of a guide before making it available to all users. There are four types of access. Read more about it below.

How to Make a Guide Visible to Users

By default guides are only visible to users with the Manager permission or the Creator permission if they created the guide. For each individual guide the guide access needs to be set up. Follow the steps below.

  1. Go to Brand Guidelines.

  2. Hover over the guide for which you want to change the guide access, click the guidelines_menu.png icon and click Guide access.

  3. Click the Change dropdown and select one of the options below.

Private

Guides with this access type can only be viewed and edited by the creator of that guide and other users with the Manager permission On the guide overview page you can recognize these guides by the guide_lock.png icon below the thumbnails. When you open a guide and see the guide_lock.png icon in the top bar you know it is only visible to editors.

Specific Users

Note

The Specific users access type is only available for the Advanced Brand Guidelines package.

Guides with this access type can be viewed and/or edited by the specified permission profiles, user groups and users. On the guide overview page you can recognize these guides by the specific_users_brand_guidelines.png icon below the thumbnails. When you open a guide and see the specific_users_brand_guidelines.png icon in the top bar, you know it is visible to and/or editable by the specified permission profiles, user groups or users.

Note

Depending on your portal setup the Specific users access type option may not be available

All users

Guides with this access type can be viewed by all users who have access to view Brand Guidelines. On the guide overview page you can recognize these guides by the guide_visible.png icon below the thumbnails. When you open a guide and see the guide_visible.png icon in the top bar, you know it is visible to all users who can view Brand Guidelines.

The normal Brand Guidelines permissions still apply. The users still need to have the Viewer permission in order to access and view the content of a guide set to the All users guide access type.

Public

Guides with this access type can be viewed by all users. This also includes external users who do not have an account with the portal. On the guide overview page you can recognize these guides by the public_guide.png icon below the thumbnails. When you open a guide and see the public_guide.png icon in the top bar, you know it is a public guide. Read more about Public guides here.

  1. (Optional) In case you selected Specific Users, click the Search for users to add dropdown and search for the user, user group or permission profile you want to add and click the name to add it.

  2. Click the Viewer dropdown next to the name of the user, user group or permission profile and select Viewer if they should only have viewing rights or select Editor if they should be able to edit the guide.

    Note

    The Viewer and Editor permissions in the Guide Access screen override for that specific guide the general permissions that users have in Permission Management.

    For example, if you assign the Editor permission to users who normally can't view guides they'll now be able to view and edit that specific guide.

  3. (Optional) Repeat the steps 4-5 as often as necessary.

  4. Click Save to set the guide access.

How to Hide a Guide for Users

  1. Go to Brand Guidelines.

  2. Hover over the guide you want to hide, click the guidelines_menu.png icon and click Guide access.

  3. Deselect the selected users, user groups and/or permission profiles that no longer should be able to view the guide by clicking the guide_hide.png button next to the name. Alternatively, you can click Remove all to remove all the selected users, user groups and/or permission profiles.

    If the All Users access type was selected, make sure to set it to Private it in order to hide the guide for all users.

  4. Click Save to save the changes.

The guide and the published pages that belong to this guide can now only be accessed by the editors and any remaining selected users. It will no longer be visible to the deselected users with access to Brand Guidelines.

How to Make a Guide Publicly Available?

Public guides can be viewed by all users. This also includes external users who do not have an account with the portal. Follow the steps below to set a guide to public.

  1. Go to Brand Guidelines.

  2. Hover over the guide you want to make public, click the guidelines_menu.png icon and click Guide access.

  3. Open the Change dropdown and select Public.

  4. Click Save to save the changes.

The guide is now publicly available and can also be shared with users who do not have an account. See Sharing guides and pages for more information.