Knowledge Base

Guide Visibility

For each guide the visibility needs to be set up. By default guides are only visible to users with the Manage Guidelines permission. This allows editors to first create and manage the content of a guide before making it available to all users. There are tour types of visibility. Read more about it below.

How to Make a Guide Visible to Users

By default, guides are only visible to editors. For each individual guide the guide visibility needs to be set up. Follow the steps below.

  1. Go to Brand Guidelines.

  2. Hover over the guide for which you want to change the guide visibility, click the guidelines_menu.png icon and click Guide visibility.

  3. Click the Change dropdown and select one of the options below.

Private

Guides with this visibility can only be viewed and edited by the creator of that guide and other users with the Manage Guidelines permission On the guide overview page you can recognize these guides by the guide_lock.png icon below the thumbnails. When you open a guide and see the guide_lock.png icon in the top bar you know it is only visible to editors.

Specific Users

Note

The Specific users visibility option is only available for the Advanced Brand Guidelines package.

Guides with this visibility can be viewed and edited by the specified permission profiles, user groups and users. On the guide overview page you can recognize these guides by the specific_users_brand_guidelines.png icon below the thumbnails. When you open a guide and see the specific_users_brand_guidelines.png icon in the top bar, you know it is visible to specified permission profiles, user groups or users.

The normal Brand Guidelines permissions still apply. The specified users still need to have the View Guidelines permission in order to view the guide and its content.

Note

Depending on your portal setup the Specific users visibility option may not be available

All users

Guides with this visibility can be viewed by all users who have access to view Brand Guidelines. On the guide overview page you can recognize these guides by the guide_visible.png icon below the thumbnails. When you open a guide and see the guide_visible.png icon in the top bar, you know it is visible to all users who can view Brand Guidelines.

The normal Brand Guidelines permissions still apply. The users still need to have the View Guidelines permission in order to access and view the content of a guide set to the All users guide visibility.

Public

Guides with this visibility can be viewed by all users. This also includes external users who do not have an account with the portal. On the guide overview page you can recognize these guides by the public_guide.png icon below the thumbnails. When you open a guide and see the public_guide.png icon in the top bar, you know it is a public guide. Read more about Public guides here.

  1. (Optional) In case you selected Specific Users, click the Search for users to add dropdown and search for the user, user group or permission profile you want to add and click the name to add it. Repeat this step as often as necessary to add other users, user group and/or permission profiles.

  2. Click Save to set the guide visibility.

How to Hide a Guide for Users

  1. Go to Brand Guidelines.

  2. Hover over the guide you want to hide, click the guidelines_menu.png icon and click Guide visibility.

  3. Deselect all the selected users, user groups and/or permission profiles that no longer should be able to view the guide by clicking the guide_hide.png button next to the name. If the All Users visibility was selected, make sure to set it to Private it in order to hide the guide for all users.

  4. Click Save to save the changes.

The guide and the published pages that belong to this guide can now only be accessed by the editors and any remaining selected users. It will no longer be visible to the deselected users with access to Brand Guidelines.

How to Make a Guide Publicly Available?

Public guides can be viewed by all users. This also includes external users who do not have an account with the portal. Follow the steps below to set a guide to public.

  1. Go to Brand Guidelines.

  2. Hover over the guide you want to make public, click the icon and click Guide visibility.

  3. Open the Change dropdown and select Public.

  4. Click Save to save the changes.

The guide is now publicly available and can also be shared with users who do not have an account. See Sharing guides and pages for more information.

Guide Visibility