Knowledge Base

Share Guides

By default guide access is restricted, which means it's only visible to the guide owner and users with the Manager permission. This allows Brand Guidelines creators to first create and manage the content of a guide before making it available to other users.

Guide Access Types

You can control who the guide is visible to by setting the guide to restricted and only make it available to specific users, user groups and permission profiles. You can also share a guide with all Brand Guidelines users or make it publicly available so that even external users can access it.

Restricted

Restricted guides can by default only be viewed and edited by the creator of that guide and other users with the Manager permission. On the guide overview page you can recognize these guides by the guide_lock.png icon below the thumbnails. When you open a guide and see the guide_lock.png icon in the top bar you know it’s only visible to the guide owner.

In addition to the guide owner, a restricted guide can be shared with individual users, user groups or permission profiles. On the guide overview page you can recognize these guides by the specific_users_brand_guidelines.png icon below the thumbnails. When you open a guide and see the specific_users_brand_guidelines.png icon in the top bar, you know it is visible to and/or editable by the specified permission profiles, user groups or users.

Note

When sharing you can only give specific users, user group and/or permission profiles Viewer or Editor rights when you're on the Advanced or Enterprise plan.

Would you like to make use of this feature? Contact your Customer Success Manager to discuss upgrading possibilities.

All users

Guides with this access type can be viewed by all users who have access to view Brand Guidelines. Users will be able to edit or view the guide based on the Brand Guidelines permissions that are enabled for their permission profile.

On the guide overview page you can recognize these guides by the guide_visible.png icon below the thumbnails. When you open a guide and see the guide_visible.png icon in the top bar, you know it is visible to all users who can view Brand Guidelines.

Note

The Viewer and Creator permissions in the Guide Access screen override for that specific guide the general profile permissions that users have set in Permission Management.

For example, if you assign the Creator permission over a specific guide to a user with Viewer Brand Guidelines permission, they'll now be able to view and edit that specific guide.

Public

Guides with this access type can be viewed by anyone who has been given the link to the guide without the need to login to the portal. This also includes external users who do not have an account in the portal. On the guide overview page you can recognize these guides by the public_guide.png icon below the thumbnails. When you open a guide and see the public_guide.png icon in the top bar, you know it is a public guide. Read more about Public guides here.

Note

The View and Edit permissions in the Guide Access screen override for that specific guide the general permissions that users have in Permission Management. For example, if you assign the Editor permission to users who normally can't view guides they'll now be able to view and edit that specific guide.

How to Make a Guide Visible to Users

By default guides are only visible to the owner of the guide (restricted access) and users with the Manager permission. Follow the steps below to share guides with other users.

There are two ways how you can share a guide with other users. You can set the guide access to All users, to Public or you can add specific users, user groups and/or profile permissions and grant them Viewer or Editor permissions for that guide.

  1. Go to Brand Guidelines.

  2. Hover over the guide for which you want to change the guide access, click the guidelines_menu.png icon and click Share.

  3. Open the dropdown at the top of the access screen and select one of the following options

    • Restricted

    • All users

    • Public

  4. Search for the user, user group or permission profile you want to share the guide with and click their name to add it.

  5. Open the dropdown next to a user, user group or permission profile and grant them the Viewer or Editor permission.

  6. (Optional) Repeat the steps 4-5 as often as necessary to share the guide with other users, user groups and/or permission profiles.

  7. (Optional) Click the Copy link button to copy the direct URL to the guide. The URL will be copied to your clipboard and you can share it with other Brand Guidelines users.

  8. Click Save changes

Note

The Viewer and Editor permissions in the Guide Access screen override for that specific guide the general permissions that users have in Permission Management.

For example, if you assign the Editor permission to users who normally can't view guides they'll now be able to view and edit that specific guide.

How to Hide a Guide for Users

  1. Go to Brand Guidelines.

  2. Hover over the guide you want to hide, click the guidelines_menu.png icon and click Share.

  3. Open the dropdown located at the top of the access screen and select the Restricted option.

  4. (If applicable) Open the dropdown next to a user, user group and/or permission profile and click Remove to remove their access rights to the guide group.

  5. Click Save changes to save the changes.

The guide can now only be accessed by the owner and users with the Manager permission. The removed user, user groups and/or permission profiles can no longer access the guide.

How to Make a Guide Publicly Available?

Public guides can be viewed by all users. This also includes external users who do not have an account with the portal. Follow the steps below to set a guide to public.

  1. Go to Brand Guidelines.

  2. Hover over the guide you want to make public, click the guidelines_menu.png icon and click Share.

  3. Open the dropdown at the top of the share screen and select Public.

  4. (Optional) Click the Copy link button to copy the direct URL to the guide. The URL will be copied to your clipboard and you can share it with external users.

  5. Click Save changes to save the changes.

The guide is now publicly available and can also be shared with users who are not logged in or who do not have an account.

Learn More