Skip to main content

Knowledge Base

Sharing Templates, Designs and Projects in Studio

Templates, designs and projects are by default only visible to the creator. Do you want to collaborate and make your material visible to other users? Find out below how you can collaborate and share content in Studio.

Tell Me More About Visibility in Studio

By default you can only see the templates, designs and projects that you created yourself. An important part of content creation is collaboration and enabling other users so that they don't have start from scratch.

If you want to make your work visible to other users you can share it. This makes the content available for them in Studio. You can make other users and user groups contributors if you want them to use your work or if you want to collaborate on content creation. Are you leaving your responsibilities or do you simple want to hand over your work? By transferring the ownership of your Studio content to another user you give them full control over your work. This also means that you give up your rights resulting in no longer having the possibility to manage this content.

Do you want to share multiple designs at the same time or or do you want to give other users access to your projects? Add your designs to a project and share it or share an existing project and make the designs inside available to other users.

How to Share Designs?

You can share a design in the following situations:

  • You're the owner of the design

  • The design was shared with you

  • You're a portal administrator with the the permission

  1. Make sure you're in Studio and click All designs in the left sidebar.

  2. Hover over a design, click the hamburger_menu.png button and click Share

  3. Search for the users or user group that you want to share the design with and click their name to add them.

  4. Open the dropdown next to the name of a user and user group and decide whether you want to make them a contributor or transfer the ownership completely.

    • Contributor

      This will give the user access to the design and makes it available on their All designs page. Based on their permissions they may also be able to open the design in the Design Editor.

    • Transfer ownership This will transfer the ownership of the design to another user and this action can't be undone. After transferring the ownership you can no longer access and modify the design unless it's shared with you by the new owner.

      Note

      • You can only transfer ownership when you're the owner of the design.

      • Portal administrators with the permission can transfer the ownership to other users for all designs.

  5. (Optional) Repeat step 3-4 as often as necessary to add other users and/or user groups you want to share the design with.

  6. Click Save changes to share your design.

The user(s) can now access the design. They won't receive a notification automatically but you can use the copy link button to create a link and share that in your preferred messaging or email solution.

How to Share Templates?

You can share a template in the following situations.

  • You're the owner of the template

  • The template was shared with you

  • You're a portal administrator with the permission

Follow the instructions below to share a template.

  1. Make sure you're in Studio and click All designs in the left sidebar.

  2. Click the ➕ New Design button and click Templates in the left sidebar.

  3. Hover of the template you want to share, click the Share button and choose one of the options below.

    • Restricted

      Only the owner of this template and the specified users and/or user groups have access to this template. Enter the name of a user or user group and click their name to add them. Repeat this as often as necessary to add other users and/or user groups.

      Optionally, click the dropdown next to the name of a user and click Transfer ownership. This will transfer the ownership of the template to another user and this action can't be undone. After transferring the ownership you can no longer access and modify the template unless it's shared with you by the new owner.

      Note

      • You can only transfer ownership when you're the owner of the template.

      • Portal administrators with the permission can transfer the ownership to other users for all templates.

    • All users

      All users who can access Studio to create designs will be able to create a design based on this template.

  4. Click Save changes to share your template.

The users you shared this template with can now create a design that is based on this template. Depending on their rights they may also be able to edit the template in the Design Editor.

How to Share Projects?

Do you want to share multiple projects at the same time? Add your designs to a project and share the project with users and/or user groups who should get access to the project and the underlying designs. Once you place designs in a project the designs will inherit the sharing permissions that were set for the project. Any permissions that you set for a design individually will still be respected.

You can share a project in the following situations:

  • You're the owner of the project

  • The project was shared with you

  • You're a portal administrator with the the permission

  1. Make sure you're in Studio and click Projects in the left sidebar.

  2. Hover over the project you want to share, click the hamburger_menu.png button and click Share.

  3. Choose one of the sharing options below.

    • Restricted

      Only the owner of this project and the specified users and/or user groups have access to this template and the underlying designs. Enter the name of a user or user group and click their name to add them. Repeat this as often as necessary to add other users and/or user groups.

      Optionally, click the dropdown next to the name of a user and click Transfer ownership. This will transfer the ownership of the project to another user and this action can't be undone. The ownership of the designs that are part of this project will remain untouched. After transferring the ownership of the project you can no longer access and modify the project unless it's shared with you by the new owner.

      Note

      • You can only transfer ownership when you're the owner of the project.

      • Portal administrators with the permission can transfer the ownership to other users for all projects.

    • All users

      All users who can access Studio to create designs will be able to create a design based on this template.

  4. Click Save changes to share your project and the underlying designs.

The users you shared this project with can now see the project and the designs that are part of the project.

Learn More