Skip to main content

Knowledge Base

Unsplash Integration

Unsplash is a directory of completely free, high-resolution photographs from the world’s most generous community of photographers. The Unsplash integration automatically uploads assets from your Unsplash account (or multiple accounts) to your Bynder DAM for a centralized asset management experience.

How to enable the Unsplash integration

Contact your Customer Success Manager to learn more about enabling the Unsplash integration.

How to set up the integration

  1. Navigate to settings_menu.png Settings > Advanced settings > Portal settings.

  2. Click All Integrations in the left sidebar, then Configure in the Unsplash section.

  3. Enter a Name for this configuration.

  4. Select New authentication to add your Bynder domain, which is the URL of your Bynder DAM and a Permanent Token.

    1. Setup will require a Bynder permanent token with read/write assets and read/write metaproperties. Learn more about Permanent Tokens here.

  5. Click Create, then Next.

  6. Select New authentication to add your Unsplash username and password.

    Note

    If you would like to connect more than one Unsplash account, you will need to configure a new Unsplash workflow for each account you would like to set up.

  7. [optional] If you would like images deleted from the Unsplash collection to also be deleted from your Bynder DAM, check the box to Delete Bynder Asset.

  8. Click Finish.

How to use the integration

Once the integration has been configured, an Unsplash collection will be created in your account called Bynder Sync Collection. Any image added to this collection will be uploaded to Bynder after about 2 hours.

The Bynder Sync Collection can be renamed, shared, or made public. If you delete the collection, a new one will be created on the next update.

  • If you delete an asset from the collection, it can be deleted from the Bynder DAM based on your configuration. However, deleting the collection itself will NOT delete images in Bynder.

  • Deleting assets from Bynder will not delete them from the Bynder Sync collection.

Learn more about Unsplash collections here.

Edit the Unsplash integration

If you would like to disable or update your Unsplash settings, such as to edit your Unsplash credentials, you can edit the configuration.

  1. Navigate to settings_menu.png Settings > Advanced settings > Portal settings.

  2. Click My Integrations in the left sidebar, then Edit in the section of the connection that you would like to update.

  3. Make your changes, then click Save.

Metaproperty Information

The following metaproperties will be automatically updated with the following details:

  • Description: Photo credit information

  • Tags: Unsplash, author/photographer name, and Unsplash ID

Please make sure these metaproperties are enabled in your DAM in order for the metadata to be synced.

FAQ

What types of files are supported?

  • Unsplash currently only offers images.

What happens to the asset if I delete it from my Bynder portal (or visa versa)

  • If you delete an asset from your Bynder portal, the asset will remain in your Unsplash collection, and if you delete an asset from your Bynder Sync Unsplash collection, you can configure whether it is deleted from your Bynder DAM or not.

Once I connect my Unsplash account to Bynder how long will it take to see my assets in Bynder?

  • The updates will run on a 2 hour interval - so every 2 hours your Unsplash assets will be pushed to your Bynder portal.

Is a specific Unsplash account type required for the integration?

  • No, any account type will work for the integration.

What if we have multiple Unsplash accounts?

  • Each Unsplash account will need to be configured and connected. There is not currently a limit to how many accounts that you can configure.

Are Unsplash assets uploaded directly to my DAM or to the Waiting Room?

  • Assets are uploaded directly to your Asset Bank, bypassing the Waiting Room.