Skip to main content

Knowledge Base

Get started with images in Studio

Using Studio, users can create website banners, social media posts, or event promo visuals from a template. Designers can create a design and save it as a template. From there, content teams can use the template to adapt in multiple sizes and versions and scale for different use cases.

Create a design

There are different options to create a design in Studio:

From Scratch
  1. Navigate to Studio.

  2. Click + New design in the top right corner, and choose Blank.

  3. Select Image and select the format.

    1. The default format for images is Landscape (16:9), which can be updated by selecting an additional option in the dropdown.

    Note

    If the size you need is not in the dropdown, you can adjust it in the General Tab in the Design Editor.

  4. Click Create Design.

From a Template
  1. Navigate to Studio.

  2. Click + New design in the top right corner and choose Template.

  3. Navigate or filter by owner or type to select your template.

  4. Select the template and click Create design.

Through Import

This option is useful when you have a design you’d like to reuse instead of re-creating it from scratch. You can import Photoshop (.PSD) or Sketch files.

  1. Navigate to Studio.

  2. Click + New design in the top right corner and select Import design.

  3. Click Select Design file.

  4. Navigate or search to find the file you want to import and click Add asset.

  5. Once the imported file is analyzed, click Create Design.

Edit a Design

Once you’ve created the design from scratch, from a template, or through import, you can edit it.

  1. If you’ve just created the design, you’ll be able to edit it immediately. Otherwise, navigate to Studio and then browse, search, or filter to find the design you’d like to edit, select it, then click Edit design.

  2. Click Artboard on the right-hand side of the screen to update the settings.

    • Background color: Enter the background color for your design. The lock icon crop_lock_icon.pngindicates that users won’t be able to change the background color. Click thecrop_lock_icon.png to allow users to change the background color.

      Tip

      If you have set Brand Colors to your account, you can apply those here by following these steps.

    • Format: By default, the format is custom, and you can adjust the width and height for the design. Click the dropdown to select standard Social Media formats or create your custom size by changing the width and height in the number fields.

    • Export: Click the dropdown to select the export options once users make their edits.

      • Download & Waiting Room: Files can be downloaded directly once the export is completed or sent to the Waiting Room for review.

      • Download only: Files can be downloaded directly once the export is completed.

      • Waiting Room only: Users can only send files to the Waiting Room for review - downloading files from the activity log is disabled.

  3. Click + next to Layers to begin creating layers. Select image, text, shape, or preset.

    • Image: Navigate or search to find the asset you’d like to add to the design, then click Add image.

    • Text Box: Add headers, subheaders, body, or CTA text to your visual.

    • Shapes: Select rectangle or ellipse and further adjust its color, opacity, etc.

    • Presets: Presets are previously saved images, text, shapes, or groups of elements that can be reused in future designs.

    Note

    You must have previously created a preset.

    Important

    A Bounding Box restricts the visibility of every element in Studio to ensure content creators work within the boundaries set by the designers.

  4. Rename: Double-click the element name to rename it. Content Creators will see the name of the element when they update the design.

  5. Group: You can group related elements by selecting them and clicking the Group layers icon.

    Tip

    Tip: We recommend you name each element to keep layers neat and to group related elements.

  6. Duplicate: Duplicate a layer by clicking the Duplicate layer icon.

  7. Lock: Prevent edits to a layer by clicking the crop_lock_icon.pngnext to the layer name. Locking a layer means that the Content Creators cannot edit that layer, such as to update the image or copy. Keep the layer unlocked if you want the Content Creators to update that layer.

  8. Hide: Temporarily hide a layer by clicking the203023804-Watch_lightbox__eye_.png icon next to the layer name.

  9. Click Options > Save to save your progress while editing.

  10. Once the design is complete, click OptionsPublish.

    • This will make the design available to the Content Creators.

  11. Click Options > Save as template to save the design as a template.

Important

To make your designs accessible to others, you must share the design with permission profiles, user groups, or individual users. Learn more about Sharing Templates, Designs, and Projects in Studio.