Knowledge Base

Restrict collection access

To give you full control over sharing collections, especially those with sensitive material, you can decide if you want to share the collection based on the rights of the recipient or the rights of the person show shares the collection.

If you select to share based on the rights of the recipient, and this recipient does not have permissions to see, for example, files that are limited (under embargo), then these files will remain hidden for the user on opening the shared collection.

share collection

To help you comply with strict security regulations that might be in place in your company, you can also decide on a permission profile level, who can deselect the Show assets based on the rights of the recipient check box when sharing a collection.

Go to Settings > Users & rights > Permission Management and enable the Allows managing the restrictions on a collection share permission for the profile you want to be able to decide whether to share based on the rights of the recipients or the sharer.

For users who do not have this permission in their profile, the Show assets based on the rights of the recipient check box is always selected and grayed out.

Learn more