Knowledge Base

Transfer collection ownership

Can you or one of your users no longer manage a collection and do you want somebody else to take over ownership? Find out below how you can (bulk) transfer the ownership of a collection.

Who can transfer the ownership of a collection?
Users with the following right can transfer the ownership of their own collections to another user:

  • Transfer collection ownership

Users with the following right can transfer the ownership of collections of other users to another user:

  • Transfer collection ownership
  • View collections from others

How to transfer the ownership of my collections?

  1. Go to the collection for which you want to transfer the ownership to another user.
  2. Click the button and click Transfer ownership. A popup will open.
  3. Enter the name of the user you want to transfer the collection to in the Collection owner field. Matching search results will be returned.
  4. Click the name of the user you want to transfer the ownership to.
  5. Click the Transfer button.
    Make sure to transfer the collection to the right person, since this action cannot be undone.

Your collection is now transferred to the other user and you can no longer manage it. The changes will be available in the Changed collections section of Change History.

How to transfer the collection ownership of other users?

  1. Go to the collections overview page.
  2. Open the Show collections from dropdown and select the user whose collection you want to transfer the ownership of.
Select Removed users or Inactive users if you want to transfer collections of deleted or inactive users. 
  1. Select the collection you want to transfer. Hover over a thumbnail, tick the collection and click the button.
  2. Enter the name of the user you want to transfer the collection to in the Collection owner field. Matching search results will be returned.
  3. Click the name of the user you want to transfer the ownership to.
  4. Click the Transfer button.
    Make sure to transfer the collection to the right person, since this action cannot be undone.

    The collection is now transferred to the other user and the previous owner can no longer manage it. The changes will be available in the Changed collections section of Change History.

How to bulk transfer the collection ownership? 

  1. Go to the collection overview page.
  2. Select the collections you want to transfer. Hover over a thumbnail, tick the collection and click the button. You can transfer your own collections. Depending on your rights you can also transfer collection ownership of other users by opening the Show collections from dropdown and selecting the user.
  3. Enter the name of the user you want to transfer the collection to in the Collection owner field. Matching search results will be returned.
  4. Click the name of the user you want to transfer the ownership to.
  5. Click the Transfer button.
    Make sure to transfer the collection to the right person, since this action cannot be undone.

    The collections are now transferred to the other user and the previous owner can no longer manage it. The changes will be available in the Changed collections section of Change History.

Learn more