Manage permissions on the asset level
To gain more insight into who can view and download content you can manage permissions on the asset level through the Content access options. For example, you can show or hide content based on specific dates and decide the download rights for user groups or selected users.
You also have a clear overview of the users who can view and download the assets. Content access offers a more granular approach to managing permissions.
- View and download is the pre-defined default permission. However, you can define your own default per groups of assets and set start and end dates for the default. When this default expires, the setting goes back to the View and download default. You can change the default at any time.
- Content access settings overwrite the rights set in the user permission profile. For example, users might not be able to view assets in general but can view the asset you allow them to view in the content access settings for this asset.
- You can change Content access permissions for a batch of assets. If some assets have permissions that do not match, a message displays informing you that the exceptions set on assets do not match. Click the Replace existing set of exceptions hyperlink for a specific permission, and set new exceptions for the asset batch.
- If you batch edit files and the default permission does not match, click the Replace existing default hyperlink to change the default and unify it for the assets you are editing.
Before you begin
If you want to manage content access, make sure you have the upload and edit rights.
- Go to Settings > Users & rights > Permission management.
- Select your user profile.
- Verify if the Upload and publish media, Edit media and Content access edit permissions are selected in the Media section.
Set the content access rights when you upload new media or open your Asset Library, select the media and click the edit icon.
You can also edit permissions in the Asset overview by selecting the assets and clicking the edit permissions icon.
- Click on the Advanced Rights tab.
- Click Edit permissions to edit one of the following rights: If you edit multiple assets with different rights, you get a warning message. Click the Clear existing set of exceptions hyperlink and set the new set of permissions for the assets you are editing.
- Default content access for all users - Specifies the default permission that applies to all users.
- Hidden - Users cannot view or download assets.
- View only - Users can only view assets.
- View and download - Users can view and download assets.
- View and request download- Users can view assets but they have to request approval to download them because the assets have been watermarked. If assets with this permission are shared with external users, the users need to log in to request the download. When the request to download is approved, the permission for the file changes to View and download, and if it is rejected, the permission becomes View only.
- Edit access rights:
- Click the pencil icon to edit the default or set start or end dates for the default.When this default expires, the setting goes back to the View and download default.
- Click Add user/groups to add users and groups to this permission. You can also set start or end dates to this permission setting.You cannot add users or groups to default. The default applies to all users.
- If you are updating and existing permission, click the Change... hyperlink to edit the permission. If there is a start or and end date applied to the set of rights, you can see a calendar icon next to the permission.The time is displayed in the timezone set in the user profile, and saved in Bynder in UTC. If the user has not set the timezone, the time is displayed in the UTC timezone.
When you share assets or collections, the recipient gets the same rights as the rights you have (unless you have selected to share a collection based on the rights of the recipient). However, if content access varies between the assets in a specific collection, you can only give the recipient the permissions based on the lowest applying permission for an asset in the collection.
Additionally, the sharer can limit the permissions of View and download to View and request download or to View only. For assets for which the sharer has the View and request download permission the access can only be limited to View only.
Normally, users cannot overwrite the content access for the shared media even if recipients are Admin users. Even if the recipients have sufficient rights to download assets but the shared assets have content access of View only, the recipients cannot download the shared assets. They need to go to the Asset Library and download the files from there.